Chelsea vs. Preston North End, FA Cup: Live blog; highlights


Welcome to the 2023-24 FA Cup, third round proper. Our opponents tonight are from the Championship, paying their first visit to the Bridge in over 20 years. Preston’s season has turned sour since a bright start, so hopefully they won’t find much magic tonight. We do have replays in this round this, in case of a draw.

Pochettino has chosen a very strong team, but also given Alfie Gilchrist his first senior start — picking the same back four as the people’s choice. Gallagher gets a rest; no Nkunku at all (contrary to Pochettino’s claims on Friday). Youngsters Michael Golding (midfielder) and Dylan Williams (left back) make the bench for the first time. (EDIT: second time for Williams, actually, first in nearly two years!)

Here we go!


Chelsea starting lineup (4-2-3-1):
Petrović | Gusto, Colwill, Disasi, Gilchrist | Enzo, Caicedo | Mudryk, Palmer, Sterling | Broja

Substitutes from: Bettinelli, Bergström, Silva, Williams, Maatsen, Gallagher, Golding, Madueke, Washington

Preston North End starting XI:
Woodman | Whiteman, Lindsay, Keane, Browne (c), McCann, Storey, Hughes, Millar, Osmajić, Potts

Substitutes from: Cornell, Cunningham, Best, Ledson, Frøkjær, Holmes, Woodburn, Evans, Riis


Date / Time: Saturday, January 6, 2024, 17.30 GMT; 12:30pm EST; 11pm IST
Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6
Referee: Thomas Bramall (on pitch); Tony Harrington (VAR)

On TV: BBC Red Button (UK); none (USA); Sony TEN 2 (India); SuperSport Premier League (NGA); elsewhere
Streaming: BBC iPlayer (UK); ESPN+ (USA); Sony LIV (India); DStv Now (NGA)


LIVE BLOG


Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!





Source link

Leave a Comment